Your mind is your force
Deutsches Epilepsiemuseum Kork
www.epilepsiemuseum.de
Loris Marazzi: Your mind is your force. Wooden sculpture

The brain, the centre of reason, of the 'soul' and of all control mechanisms of the somatic and mental functions in the human organism, is the basis of human existence. A disease of the brain can have deep reaching effects on the personality of a person.

Up until the second half of the 19th century, doctors believed that epileptic seizures originated in different organisms in the human body, e.g. in the stomach, the heart, the liver, the womb, and in the extremities...

Today clinical observations, experiments in physiological laboratories, examinations made by instruments (e.g. electroencephalogram - EEG) have proved that every epileptic seizure originates in the brain.

» continue...

Your mind is your force
Deutsches Epilepsiemuseum Kork
www.epilepsiemuseum.de
Loris Marazzi: Your mind is your force. Holzplastik

Das Gehirn, Sitz des Verstandes, der "Seele" und aller Steuerungsvorgänge für die somatischen und psychischen Funktionen des menschlichen Organismus, ist verantwortlich für das gesamte Sein eines Menschen. Seine Erkrankung kann tief in die Persönlichkeit des Betroffenen eingreifen.

Bis in die 2. Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts hinein waren die Ärzte der Ansicht, epileptische Anfälle könnten ihren Ursprung in unterschiedlichen Organen des menschlichen Körpers haben - so z.B. im Magen, im Herzen, in der Leber, in der Gebärmutter, in den Extremitäten...

Heute wissen wir - gestützt auf klinische Beobachtung, Experimente im physiologischen Labor, apparative Untersuchungen (z.B. Elektroencephalogramm) [EEG]), - dass jeder epileptische Anfall seinen Ursprung im Gehirn hat.

» weiter...